Chat About Jesus

Posted: January 6, 2013 by Scott K. in All The Things
Tags: , , , , ,

Two nights ago, whilst thoroughly immersed in cloud of smug intellectualism, I happened to glance up at the television and see an ad for ChatAboutJesus.com; a website where you can, according the ad, log on and discuss any and all issues and questions you might have in life and possibly come out with a relationship with Jesus.  I say, “according to the ad” and, “possibly” because I can’t seem to connect with anyone.  Any time I try to log in to the chat, I’m always met with the following statement:

We are sorry, but we currently do not have any volunteers available to answer your chat.

Thank you for checking out our website to chat about Jesus. Know that true life is only found in Jesus Christ. He truly does love you and gave His life on the cross so that you could be reconciled to God. Please try to chat with us again later. If you are in a difficult or emergency situation, please call 800-488-HOPE. You can watch a video about the truth about God here or read about Him on our website. We are praying for you!

I realize that it was four in the morning and I was drunk, but the goddamn ad was played at four in the morning when I was drunk.  I’m not sure who they are trying to reach, but the type of people who are up and drunk at four in the morning seems like their exact demographic.  They have to realize that people will want to sign on and chat about Jesus at all hours, and even the malicious, whiskey addled lunatics like me should be able to reach them.  After all, I can’t imagine the glorious ecclesiastical boner  that would result in the conversion of a such a scandalous libertine like yours truly.  However, it stands to reason that the type of people they could get to work at that time wouldn’t be the best equipped to handle me.  Perhaps they know what they’re doing after all.  And there’s always the 800 number in case you happen to be, “…in a difficult or emergency situation.”

woman-crying-with-phone

The imagination starts working overtime when considering the type of emergency that would necessitate such a call.  One wouldn’t think they mean for us to call if we’re laying on the street bleeding to death.  Then again, it is our postmortem fate they’re worried about… Perhaps the lines are flooded with calls from young men reeling from a post-coital exhaustion after an encounter with multiple women and just can’t take it anymore.  Somehow it doesn’t seem plausible.  Perhaps there might be more calls from women in that situation since there’s nothing more disgusting and reviled than a sexually adventurous women.  Indeed, the only thing worse than a woman who would do such a thing is one that doesn’t regret it for the rest of her life.  She would certainly need that emergency Jesus hotline to validate her guilt and offer a different and boring solution.  The only men and women I know that would make such a call would be doing so simply to let the operator know what they’re missing.  Come to think of it, the real emergency is that there’s some twenty year old manning the phone lines in the wee hours of the morning waiting to help us find Jesus instead of helping a stranger find their prostate in a truck stop bathroom.    

The people in the ad in this ad would do better with St. John’s Wort and college classes.  The emptiness you feel is real, but it can only be filled with fond memories of a life lived on your own terms.  Life is, after all, a work in progress.  So before you break down and accept that you’re a sinner, get some proper fucking sins under your belt.  

Comments
  1. Diogenes says:

    The Marquis de Sade, purportedly, once said, “In order to know virtue, we must first acquaint ourselves with vice.” I took that advice and I haven’t regretted a moment of it since. So, Scott, if the Jesus line doesn’t work for you, you know my number. I have plenty of experience with existential angst and sexual perversion. I would be more than happy to help you with that twenty year old or your prostate or that twenty year old with your prostate. My line is open 24/7 for you, baby.

  2. Nohm says:

    I’ve gone to the website multiple times, at different times of the day, and it *always* give me that same message.

  3. Nohm says:

    Hmm, I’ve actually never seen the commercial you posted at the bottom of this article; I’ve only seen the “text messages between two buddies” commercial for the site.

  4. JODI! says:

    Maybe they need a volunteer. Hey, I have an idea re: volunteer opportunity.

  5. Hey guys, I’m a volunteer worker for chataboutjesus.com We are always recruiting for volunteers so the “none available” message appears less often. We can only take up to four chats at a time. Even with four, it can be hard to help everyone. Many times someone may not get through not because of no volunteers, but all the volunteers are taking their top load. We do about 1500 chats a day I believe. Come back anytime. I love you all! :)

  6. spanky says:

    u guys r all faggots that dont know what happens so u make up and imaginary freind b honest with urself the bible is a fairy tail used to brainwash little kids

  7. Nicky says:

    I to have been given the same message, however I think that its great to be style to go to a website and learn or talk about something positive besides the regular sex and other nonsense thats on other social networks. Besides when has leaning about Jesus ever hurt anyone?

  8. Lisa Michelle says:

    If you all looked inside yourselves and I mean REALLY LOOKED…without what you’ve brain washed yourselves into believing, without the audience of anyone but you, really think about how you react, think, speak, and believe….IS IT TO VALIDATE YOUR OWN BEHAVIOR? To think that what you do alone or with others does not only effect you , but it effects EVERYONE….we should live as if someone is watching….BECAUSE THEY ARE…….there is GOD in ALL of us and if you took the time to get to know the GOD in you….BELIEVE ME>>>>YOU’D BE ALOT MORE PLEASED WITH YOURSELF AND THE YOU OTHERS SEE AND USE AS ROLE MODELS….CAUSE BELIEVE ME EVERYONE TOUCHES SOMEONE ELSE LIFE EVERYDAY. THANK YOU LORD FOR GIVING ME THE LIFE YOU HAVE …TO BE ABLE TO KNOW YOU IN WAYS I’VE ONLY DREAMT OF. UPISDAWAY….

    • Scott K. says:

      Your comments WOULD BE much easier to READ IF YOU stuck with normal typeface INSTEAD OF PUTTING IN CAPS AND >>>>> left OUT the GREATER THAN signs. Honestly, I feel like I’m being talked to by someone on the verge of losing their shit, and then finally losing their shit.

  9. A.J. says:

    Scott, thank you for your post. I am a Christian and I didn’t even realize that the people who would want or need questions answered would be the ones calling 4am after a party. I’m in the process of becoming a volunteer with the chat about Jesus ministry to help answer the questions of those who call or sign on. I’ll make sure to be on during those hours, maybe I’ll have a brew or two with me and we can chat over a beer together.

  10. who is going to preach

  11. Antoine says:

    I love this websit

  12. Greg says:

    Okay, I am a Christian and also on the path to ordained ministry. But this is freaking brilliant! It definitely made me laugh, and Touché!

Leave a Reply

